Transcendental Consciousness

For sometime now, I have been thinking about human consciousness and the plausibility of transferring consciousness to another human or machine (?). Of course, the first thing that pops up on google when you look up something similar is the trailer to the movie called Transcendence starring Johnny Depp (which inspired the title). Though I haven’t watched that movie, the theme was pretty clear from the trailer. This was constantly something that bugged my head until I had ( what i would like to call) an intellectual breakthrough, thanks to my beloved father. Let me elaborate-

The other day I happened to come home later than usual after hanging out with some friends. I mentally prepared myself for a lecture that was to follow ,as my father was awake. Sensing my disinterest, he says to me- “Son, my advice to you is the product of my experience”. These words hit me like a train! At that moment I realized that in a very twisted way, advice is the way we humans transfer consciousness from one generation to the next. The only way to make this transfer is through speech. Though advice is only the conclusion from an experience, following it might help avoid circumstances that a prior generation faced.

So what? What does this have to do with anything? What are the implications of the “transcendental consciousness”?
Well, lets start with Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution. Evolution resulted in helping organisms adapt to their surrounding environment. It was for one generation to make a better version of itself, to overcome any sort of threat. But how can one generation of organisms transfer an experience to another? This is where, I think, advice enters the picture.So if you look at the larger picture, you will notice that  every piece of advice you have rolled your eyes at are the conclusions of a previous generation.

But what does the previous generation get by facilitating this transfer?

Well, as i have mentioned in a post previously the purpose of an organism is to procreate and make a better version of itself, but this just takes care of the physiological aspect of the transfer; the mental aspect comes in when they give you advice. When this advice is taken, they transfer their consciousness into you and in a really weird way live their lives through you i.e. they live forever(until the apocalypse of course!) . And by making many copies of themselves, they make sure there are many paths(or options in case one fails) that they can take!

The truth is that the way we think -our consciousness- is just one of the many manifestations of the first humans that ever evolved from their primate ancestors.

 

Leave a Reply

